Liberal pranksters toy with NewtGingrich.com
20.05.12
Liberal Internet pranksters are having a field day with Newtgingrich.com, redirecting traffic to a score of pages that poke fun at and embarrass the Republican presidential candidate.
Go to the site and you'll instantly be taken to the homepage of Tiffany & Co., where Gingrich famously has a half-a-million-dollar line of credit, or Freddie Mac, which controversially paid the politician $1.6 million for providing "strategic advice."
Gingrich's official website is newt.org; he does not own newtgingrich.com. The official site is operating properly.
The namesake website also takes visitors to a 2009 Think Progress article titled, "Gingrich 'Inadvertently' Names Porn Company 'Entrepreneur of the Year' For Stimulating The Economy," or to some less-than-flattering articles about his campaign, including one from The Atlantic Wire titled, "Gingrich Campaign Still Looks an Awful Lot Like a Book Tour."
After a day of anonymity, the pranksters came forward yesterday (Dec. 21) to take credit for their work. American Bridge 21st Century, a liberal political action committee, issued a press release explaining that it's selling NewtGingrich.com to anyone willing to pony up the cash.
Source: msnbc.com